Gage

Need some advice for my wife's friend on K-3

5 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Russia
Timeline

My wife has made friends with a woman in town who recently entered the United States on K-3. She has a small son. Apparently they had a falling out a few days ago and he's kicking her and the boy out. He's bought them a one way ticket back home and says he wants a divorce. He's refusing to give her money or anything and she doesn't even have a credit card. She's worried if she leaves the country on the ticket he bought her that it will be pretty much impossible for her to get any financial compensation out of him in the future. She's at a loss of what she's supposed to do and since I'm no lawyer I told my wife I'd post this here to see if we could get some good advice for her friend.

My first thought would be that she needs to visit with an immigration lawyer, but that might be difficult since she has no money. Does anyone here have other advice we could pass on to her?

February 2008: Met while in Thailand

March 2008: Traveled to Russia to see her

May 2008: Traveled to Russia to see her

June 2008: Joint vacation to Italy

July 2008: Applied for and received B-2 tourist visa

August 2008: She comes to U.S. on B-2/ I proposed

October 2008: Traveled to Russia to see her and meet family

November 11, 2008: Filed for K-1, California Service Center

November 19, 2008: I-797 NOA1 received

December 2008: Went back to see her again

January 21, 2009: NOA2 received

January 29, 2009: Notice file sent to Embassy received

February 4, 2009: She comes to U.S. on B-2 for vacation in Hawaii

March 2, 2009: She receives notice of interview date and time

April 7, 2009: Interview in Moscow - Approved!

May 29, 2009: She arrives!

June 15, 2009: Applied for SS card

June 19, 2009: SS card received

August 14, 2009: Got married in Florida

Sept. 15, 2009: Sent AOS packet with I-485, I-765, and I-131

Sept. 22, 2009: Notice package received