jjsa

complicated situation (k1)..please help!

2 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Netherlands
Timeline

I’m sorry for the long post, but Id greatly appreciate it if you want to read this and help me!

Hello Everyone,

My name is Judith, I am Dutch and new to this forum. I have a complicated situation, so I hope you can help me out. I have an American fiancé, I met him in 2005, when I was an exchange student at a high school. We were both 17 at that time and I stayed there for a year on a J1 Student Visa. After I left to go back to The Netherlands again, we still dated and I came back in December 2006 for 2 weeks on a tourist visa. After that time, we were both busy with college and work, and unfortunately did not have the time and money to visit each other soon again. Luckily, we saw each other again after that long period of time, in July 2008, when I came to the U.S, again on a J1 student visa as I was going to complete a semester abroad at a University in Arizona. So before I started my semester there in August, I first went to visit my fiancé in July (at that time still boyfriend) for about 3 weeks. I studied in Arizona from August 2008 till December 2008 and in between I also traveled again to visit my fiancé during my thanksgiving break. In December 2008, I went back to the Netherlands and then went to Asia to do my internship for 5 months. I came back to the Netherlands in June 2009 and luckily the next month, I had a long summer holiday so I could visit my fiancé for 8 weeks. So during this last summer we got engaged :blush: . Now I am back in the Netherlands, in my senior year of college and figuring out the best ways for us to be together. I am planning to graduate in June 2010 or September 2010. We were thinking about the K1 procedure or the K3 procedure, but do not know what would be the best to do and therefore we would like your advice.

There are some factors that influence the choice of choosing for the K1 or K3 in our case: