8 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello all,

You will have to pardon me Im really new to this whole thing. I never in my life thought I would fall in love with someone from another country, and that I would feel so strongly that I would do anything to get her to the states with me, but it happened and here I am joining this awsome community.

Ok well, Ill get right to it, I read a little bit on VJ and it said that K3 is the newer form of spousal Visa but CR-1 Is still around, and Im also hearing that CR-1 is actually faster now, that they have redone the process and is considerably faster than K3. Is this true? Im also in the military if that matters and Im a pretty busy person so im shooting for the fastest and most straight forward way to get her here. If it matters she is from the philippines and I will be residing in California. As far as I can gather it is particularly difficult for a philippine resident to get a visa in the states due to all the mail order bride/match making companies that use filipinas as thier cash cows. that is why we chose to go the spousal route. I will be going there in Aug/Sept to marry her. Is CR-1 actually faster or should I follow the typical K3 route, as far as I can tell CR-1 Seems to have the most benefit as far as Green card / SSN as soon as they come to the states. Any advice, Im sorry if this is poorly worded im in a bit of a hurry and this has been on my mind all day. Thank you

Wright D

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Mexico
Timeline

We all started exactly where you are, so don't worry about asking.

My husband and I opted to go by the CR1 way because 2 f the reasons you mentioned, is just as fast as K3 and once I enter the states I get permanent resident status and with the K3 you still have to get the Adjustment of Status.