elena prekrasnaya

Should I pay taxes in Russia?

5 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Russia
Timeline

I moved to US in 2008, I still have my russian passport with permanent registration stamp in it which means than I'm still a resident of Russia. When I start to work here in US, should I pay taxes to Russian authorities as well? Thank you!

K1:

30/11/2007: I-129F petition was sent to VSC

12/06/2007: NOA1

12/12/2007: NOA1 received by mail

12/14/2007: Touched

02/17/2007: Touched

03/11/2008: NOA2 in my e-mail!!! :)

03/12/2008: Touched

03/13/2008: NVC received

03/15/2007: NOA2 in a mailbox

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline
I moved to US in 2008, I still have my russian passport with permanent registration stamp in it which means than I'm still a resident of Russia. When I start to work here in US, should I pay taxes to Russian authorities as well? Thank you!

Not being a expert on Russian tax law, as a citizen are you required to prepare or submit tax forms if you have worldwide income or just Russian income?

For example, a US citizen by law, is taxed on worldwide income, but can prepare a form to offset some of the tax liability, if the citizen pays tax to a foreign government.

Not sure how Russia does this

moving to Russia regional forum

Edited by payxibka

YMMV

I would do it straight up "Russian style."

That is, if you're planning on staying in the U.S. forever, forget about taxes in Russia. Keep that money and then apply it to paying taxes here later once you start working. Or take a nice trip somewhere. Or save it because who knows what's going to happen to the economy here in the U.S. in the next few months.

Русский форум член.

Ensure your beneficiary makes and brings with them to the States a copy of the DS-3025 (vaccination form)

If the government is going to force me to exercise my "right" to health care, then they better start requiring people to exercise their Right to Bear Arms. - "Where's my public option rifle?"