John & Mary

Repeated Short Visits to UK

9 posts in this topic

Hi all! I'm new to VJ, as my English fiance and I just became engaged over Thanksgiving break. Our I-129F package will be sent off today! We are enormously excited and can't wait to spend our lives together.

Until his visa comes through, however, we want to spend as much time together as possible. Since I am a teacher, I have several short breaks and a summer break that I want to spend in the UK with him. I already spent 5 days at Thanksgiving, and want to spend two weeks at Christmas, five days in February, a week in April, and then as much as two months in the summer (we're hoping that the visa will process relatively quickly, of course, and we'd like to think I'll be able to bring him home with me by then).

I am concerned, however, that the UK Border Agency may be put off by so many visits (5 in an 8-month period), even though they will all be relatively short (with the exception of the summer). I've scoured the UK Consulate and Border Agency websites, but they just don't seem to provide much information about this particular set of circumstances. Is there anything I can do in advance to ensure that I won't have any trouble getting into the UK-- like registering with some office, for example? I will of course travel with copies of my mortgage statement and a letter from my employer. I've just heard horror stories and I want to avoid them as best I can.

I've read advice here that says things like, "Just say you're visiting friends" when interviewed by the customs agent. I tried that at Thanksgiving, and the agent immediately inquired if it was a male friend, and if we intended to get married. (We had no such intention-- but I was sternly warned against getting married anyway!) They didn't give me any hassle, but I'm just worried that if I visit so often they'll find a reason to turn me away.