becks

Just married an american and want to move my children and I (canadians) need help on direction

18 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Canada
Timeline

I am totally new to all of this. I just married an american (we got marriend in the USA) and checking out the usgov site to see what are the steps in order for us to move to the US to be together. I am a bit confused at to what are the right steps. I don't think I need an immigration lawyer in order to do the necessary paperwork. Can anyone help me please? I assume we have to fill out the immigrant visa forms, fiancé form and/or alien form? That american site is confusing for me and so so much information that i am honestly trying not to be overwhelmed. Also what is the timeline on this? I am a government employee and also trying to get a job offer from the government down in the States..can someone pls give me (us) some advice.

Thanks! :blush:

Becks

Filed: Timeline

If you're already married the fiancé form would not apply. K-3 or CR-1 are your options if you intend to do processing in Canada. If you came to the US and married without prior plans to do so when you entered, there is a possibility of adjusting status from within the USA. Caveat: Potential and success depends on a number of criteria.