Gypsyangel

Target Visa / Macy's Card / Etc.

13 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

While still living in Canada, upon the advice of a few people here (thank you!), I got some U.S. credit cards (eg. Target Visa, Macy's, Pier 1) using my Canadian info. Now I'd like to transfer these cards to my U.S. info so I can start building credit here.

As I begin to do this, I have a couple of questions .... Did your credit limit stay the same when they transferred it? I'm asking this because I'm just beginning and have no credit rating in the U.S. I have a Target visa with a limit of a couple of thousand. It would be a pain if they reduced it to $500 or something low. Should I transfer them all at once or is there a benefit to doing a couple of cards and waiting a bit? Is it a fairly striaghtforward thing to request or do they give you a hard time?

I'm wondering what others experiences have been with this. Does anyone have any info they'd like to share?

Thanks!

N-400

02/08/12 - Mailed N-400

02/14/12 - NOA

03/02/12 - Biometrics Letter

03/22/12 - Biometrics

04/09/12 - Interview Notice

05/16/12 - Interview and Oath - USC

ROC

11/16/10 - Mailed ROC

11/18/10 - Delivered to VSC

11/19/10 - NOA1

11/23/10 - Cheque cashed

12/29/10 - Biometrics

05/06/11 - ROC Approved

05/16/11 - Green card received. Yay! (6 months)

There's diamonds in the sidewalk, the gutters lined in song

Dear I hear that beer flows through the faucets all night long

There's treasure for the taking, for any hard working (wo)man

Who will make his home in the American Land

I am just switching my Target card over now. They need a photocopy of my SIN and US driver's license (I didn't anticipate the DL thing, so I had to wait till I had one). So far, no mention of reducing my credit limit 9I hope not! We've ended up needing to use the card a lot!).