amarie

Married in the US not sure what to do

15 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi,

Sorry if I posted this in the wrong spot I'm very new to this and very confused. I came to the US for a visit and ended up marrying my long time family friend. We have been married for a couple weeks now and I have no idea what my next step is. He is American and I am Canadian. What is the first step we have to take?? Is there a chance I'll be sent back to Canada?? We didn't expect for this to happen and the whole thing has been overwhelming and now we're really afraid. Thanks

I believe the correct process for you, seeing as you are already in the US and married, would be to apply for AOS right away, this would be the I-485 form and you can find all the related forms here http://www.visajourney.com/forums/index.ph...p;page=examples

this will get you a work permit and eventually your green card, im sure others will add more for you, but that gives you some place to start welcome to vj :D

Since there was no intent upon entering and you are married, don't go back home.

File for AOS :)

Congratulations!!!

Let's Keep the Song Going!!!

CANADA.GIFUS1.GIF

~Laura and Nicholas~

IMG_1315.jpg

Met online November 2005 playing City of Heroes

First met in Canada, Sept 22, 2006 <3

September 2006 to March 2008, 11 visits, 5 in Canada, 6 in NJ

Officially Engaged December 24th, 2007!!!

Moved to the U.S. to be with my baby on July 19th, 2008 on a K1 visa!!!!

***10 year green card in hand as of 2/2/2012, loving and living life***

Hmmm maybe we should move back to Canada! lol smile.png

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

As others have stated, you can go the AOS route, BUT don tleave the USA until you have achieved AOS or obtained Advance parole (AP) Leavign the USA is no proble, BUT the problem may be reentering the USA!!

OR