jimmyaven

Conditional Residency and Divorce

8 posts in this topic

I got married in August of 2006 and gained conditional residency in August of 2007. If I remember correctly, you're suppose to file to remove the condition before two years from the date you became a resident, right?

Well, my wife received a letter saying that the two year anniversary of our marriage is apporaching and asking to set up some kind of an interview to see "how things are going between us".

The truth is, we're going through a divorce right now. I filed it four weeks ago based on gound of "incompatibility."

What will happen if our divorce is finalized before our 2nd anniversary? What is this letter about? I was under the imppresion that 90 days before the 2nd anniversary of me being a resident, I could file a request to remove the condition and also the waiver since my wife won't be signing with me.

She also said that they told her that if we get a divorce before our second marriage anniversary, that I would be deported. Is that true?

I had thought that three months before two years from being a resident, I could file to remove a condition and also file a waiver that I'm no longer married, and just make my case to the INS from there.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Filed: Other Country: Argentina
Timeline
I got married in August of 2006 and gained conditional residency in August of 2007. If I remember correctly, you're suppose to file to remove the condition before two years from the date you became a resident, right?

Well, my wife received a letter saying that the two year anniversary of our marriage is apporaching and asking to set up some kind of an interview to see "how things are going between us".

The truth is, we're going through a divorce right now. I filed it four weeks ago based on gound of "incompatibility."