Laura3333

Our joint tax return as the evidence of our relationship

9 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Rwanda
Timeline

I do not know if you read my story or not.

So I, probably, should repeat this:

I am married to an American citizen.

I am a conditional permanent resident.

My permanent residency status was granted in Nov 2006 and so my conditional green card expires in Nov 09/08.

We need to file the I-751 petition to remove the conditions on my permanent residency.

Together with the petition my husband and I should provide the

Evidence of our Relationship.

There are many documents that can be the evidence of our relationship.

1. A deed, showing co-ownership of our property.

2. A lease with both of our names on it.

3. Utility bills with both of our names.

4. "Joint" bank accounts.

5. Car insurance that has both of our names.

6. A copy of our joint tax returns, etc....

Are all of them of equal importance?

May be some are more preferred by the CIS than the others?

Is joint tax return more important than other documents, may be not officially, but still?

If we do not provide our joint tax return will it be really bad for our case? :wacko:

2007 was our first business year in America.

I am a housewife.

My husband is a translator and interpreter.

He is self-employed and works for cash. There are no papers showing his income.

Most of the money he made in 2007 was spent on business development and we lived on savings that we made in Russia.

So, we are concerned that our 2007 tax return may look weird because it shows that all the money we made was spent on rent, utilities and on paying taxes and very little money left to live on.

Our 2007 joint tax return is an important document proving our relationship.

Can it look weird for the USCIS?

Will they pay attention to this? If yes, what can we do about it. Should we correct our tax-return 2007?

We don’t want them to think that we are cheating on taxes.