Sherri

Questions about DS-230 and more!

2 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Paraguay
Timeline

Hi Everyone. I am new to VJ the website, not the frusturation of waiting for my love. I am happy to say that we got married in Paraguay last summer and turned in our I-130 in July. After a long wait without know what was going on at all, we got our approval from the USCIS exactly 6 months to the day after we sent our I-130. (Jan. 30) Now we have been dealing with the NVC which I find to be more open to answer questions etc. and things are moving faster than I thought! :dance:

Which brings me to my questions.

In April we were asked to pay for and fill out the affidavit of support (I-186) which I did promptly. Then we were asked to PAY for the visa application (DS-230) and then waited to get the letter with the OK to fill it out and send it in with all the paperwork. We still have NOT received anything saying that. Yet yesterday we got a letter saying that our I-186 is incomplete because they do not have the DS-230 yet. DID I MISS SOMETHING???? Is it common knowledge to send both I-186 and DS-230 together? Are they usually seperate instructions?

I just downloaded the DS-230 and filled it out according to the directions. I will mail it with the "new" barcode paper they sent in the request for more info. but I do NOT have the envelope provided by the NVC. Does that matter? Should I wait to see if we get a seperate letter saying it is time to send in the DS-230? Should I call them and make sure they are "ready" for out DS-230.

In the past I did get someone else's paperwork so I just want to make sure I follow everything correctly.