languageladki

Tax nightmare

10 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Well, my husband entered the US on a CR1 visa on April 21, 2007. Now we are trying to find out what to do with our US/Canadian taxes. We hired a so-called "tax professional" but he totally messed our returns up, at least they don't look anything like what we expected. The guy filled them out as a 1040 in the US with just my husband's US income (that earned after his move to the US) and my income (also US). He filled it out as married filing jointly. He didn't include my husband's canadian income at all beause he said that because it was income earned during the "nonresident period" (when my husband lived in Canada) that it was exempt from taxes. Nor did he include any information about my husband's RRSPs.

I read some totally contradictory things in the 1040 instructions and some other IRS documents but I am not a tax professional. Another tax professional that had a blog online told me that we should include ALL income earned for the year and then take a tax credit by either using a form 2555 or a 1116. He said that if we filed married jointly that all income earned, including Canada's had to be included. He said that if we wanted to exclude the income that we had to file married separately (including on state returns) and that we then couldn't take the standard deduction. He also said that we had to file another paper to claim the internal earnings of the RRSPs.

My question is, WHO IS RIGHT? Can we claim just his US income or do we need to file stating the Canadian income and then take the tax credits for what was paid to Canada for income tax.

Also, on his canadian return my income is not mentioned at all, but I did earn it in the US and have never lived in Canada. That seems correct to me but I am not sure. One person told us that he would have to file in Canada a T1161 if he had any assets left behind in Canada but we're not sure about that either.