ACE

Finacee or Spouse VISA.. which is faster and safer? experience, advice any help plssss....

11 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Philippines
Timeline

Hi,

I am trying to see which is faster.

My fiancee is in the Philippines. I live here in California. I just became a US Citizen.

My fiancee has been waiting for so long. I guess I just want to make sure I make the right move in terms of the processing time and chances of visa approval.

How long is the processing time from the time I submit my application?

If she gets here with a fiance visa, how long does she has to wait for her greencard? Are ther additional interviews or process to take once she gets here. I am really new to this.

What about with a spouse visa? What about arriving here with a spouse visa?

Please share your experiences, opinion or advice. I am hoping that she'll get here this year.

Thank you all.. I appreciate it.. :)

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ghana
Timeline

May I suggest you read the guides (you can find the tab at the top of the page).

If she comes here on a K visa (either K1 or K3) then you will need to adjust status once she gets here and wait for the greencard. Times for this vary.

If she comes on a CR1/IR1 visa then she gets her greencard a few weeks after coming into the country. It generally takes longer to go this route than the other visas.

For a spousal visa you need to submit your marriage certificate. Unless you plan on going to the Philippines soon the K1 would be the fastest way to get your finacee here since you just need to prove that you have met within the last 2 years.

As for times to petition etc, you may want to take a look at timelines for the Philippines to see which one is faster.

Good luck!!!

Mama to 2 beautiful boys (August 2011 and January 2015)

Click for full timeline

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: China
Timeline